top of page

Let’s Take a Trip to Greece


Greece

Greek mythology is and has always been my favorite topic to research, read about, and discuss. The Greek Gods, the legendary tales, the iconic poems — what’s NOT to love? But my favorite thing that came out of Greek Mythology has definitely been the books that put their own spin on these tales.

The first book I want to mention is actually a series – my favorite series, Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan. What’s not to love about this series? Each character has their own unique differences that reflect their godly parents somehow, while also still being their own person. It’s fun to read and follow as teenagers fight villains while still trying to figure out who they are and how they fit into their world. I mean, being a teenager is scary! I’ve also learned the most about Greek Mythology through this series. The Greek Gods, what they’re known for, the myths, the tales, the legends. It’s all just so interesting! I mean, who knew Medusa had a diner where she actually turns all of her customers into stone and keeps them in the back storage room?


The second book is the Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller. This book is the truly heart wrenching tale of Achilles and Patroclus, Achilles’ best friend. The book is told from the perspective of Patroclus and follows their love story as they grow older in a world and environment that doesn’t agree with who they’ve chosen to love: each other. The book ends with the Trojan War and had me sobbing so hard that I couldn’t even see the words through my tears. Seriously, if you need a good cry and you enjoy reading beautifully written literature, read this book.


The final book I want to mention is Ariadne by Jennifer Saint. If I could give this book more than 5 stars, I would. Ariadne was the princess of Crete and the daughter of King Minos and was most famous from the classic tale of Theseus and the Minotaur. The novel follows Ariadne’s entire life and gives insight on who she was aside from the legendary tale. We also get stories of other women in Greek Mythology like Medusa and Phaedra. The book is truly beautiful and provides an interesting alternative perspective.


There are so many amazing Greek Mythology retellings that I still want to read because I can’t get enough of these stories. Seriously, give me five different versions of the same retelling and I will still read and enjoy every single one of them. I hope you read and enjoy these books just as much as I do!

Comentários


bottom of page