top of page

I’m Gonna Thrill You Tonight


Thriller Novels

Do you associate certain book genres with the seasons? How about holidays?


Well, I do. In the winter, I like to read fantasy novels. In the summer, I’ll read romances. One time, I even waited until November 9th to read November 9 by Colleen Hoover. It helps keep reading exciting. So, in October, of course I like to read thrillers and horror novels to fit the vibe.

Here are a few of the books I’ve read so far this October.


Verity by Colleen Hoover

I’m not proud to say that I read Verity in one day. The novel is about a struggling writer named Lowen who accepts a job to complete the remaining books in a successful series by Verity Crawford. Verity is injured and doesn’t have the capabilities to continue the series herself. However, as Lowen begins to study Verity’s work at her house, she uncovers many dark secrets that Verity has been hiding and begins to question if she’s really injured. This book kept me up all night for two reasons: I couldn’t wait to know what was happening next and I was too afraid to fall asleep. It‘s definitely a must-read.


The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides

This novel is a psychological thriller about a woman named Alicia, a famous painter, who is married to a famous fashion photographer, Gabriel, and lives a lavish, happy life. One night, Gabriel comes home from work and Alicia shoots him five times in the face and never speaks again (hence the title, the silent patient). She ends up being sent to a mental institution rather than jail. Theo Faber, a criminal psychotherapist becomes fascinated with her story and jumps at the opportunity to work with her. He’s determined to make her talk and find ou the mystery of why she shot her husband. The twist in this novel is one I never expected and one I’ll never forget.


A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder by Holly Jackson

This is the first novel of a three part series, but I’ve only read the first one so far. Don’t worry, I’m jumping into the second book as soon as I can. Seriously, I couldn’t put this one down. This novel is about a student named Pippa Fitz-Amobi who decides to do her final year project on the case that shook her town five years prior. Everyone believes Andre Bell was murdered by Sal Singh — Sal and his family’s life was ruined ever since. As Pippa continues to do her research, she uncovers secrets that someone in town is desperate to keep hidden. Pippa is determined to find out who really killed Andie Bell as her research becomes about more than just a final project. Plus, there’s a touch of romance that I just can’t say no to.



Comments


bottom of page