top of page

Gilmore Girls: A Bookworms Favorite Series


Rory Gilmore Quote

If you consider yourself a lover of reading and you haven’t watched Gilmore Girls, you’re missing out. Rory Gilmore is considered to be one of modern pop culture’s OG readers. Throughout the entirety of Gilmore Girls, there are multiple references to books and authors and showcases the wide range of novels that the characters have read.

Throughout the summer, I made it a mission to read and review some of the books that were referenced in the show. While the show references a total of 339, I‘ve‘ e decided to review 3 for this post.


Reviews


1984 by George Orwell - 4/5

  • I seem to always gravitate towards dystopian novels and 1984 was one that I particularly enjoyed reading. In the novel, the main character, Winston Smith, is being watched by the Party through telescreens and everywhere he looks, he sees the Party’s omniscient leader known as Big Brother. The novel takes you through Winston’s feelings of oppression and rigid control of the Party, his love affair with a woman named Julia (which is prohibited by the Party), and more. Overall, I found the novel to be an interesting read.

The Awakening by Kate Chopin - 5/5

  • The Awakening was a book I read my sophomore year of high school, and I liked it so much that I decided to reread it again this summer. The novel is about a woman named Edna Pontellier who is living in 19th century Louisiana. During this time, women are meant to marry and bear children, but Edna believes differently. The novel follows her living in a suffocating marriage, not having the relationship she‘s supposed to have with her children, and having an affair with a younger man. The book has great portrayals of feminism in that era and the ending was a twist.

Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White - 5/5

  • I decided to read Charlotte’s Web as a reminiscent of my childhood. Reading something as a child versus reading as an adult makes you see the novel in a completely different way. For example, as an adult, I cried at the end of Charlotte’s Web. It’s truly a beautiful story of a young girl who sees the potential of a “runt of the litter” pig and then a spider who befriends said pig and decided to help him. The novel portrays the beauty of unexpected friendships. It was 5 stars when I was in elementary school and it’s still 5 stars now.

As you can see, I still have a while to go before reading all 339 books referenced in the series, but so far, the books have been better than I expected! I’m excited to continue reading from Rory Gilmore’s reading list and hope to enjoy each of them as I did these three.

Komentáře


bottom of page