top of page

Better Than The Movies


Harry Potter vs. Percy Jackson

As I believe all readers can agree to, the books are always better than the movies. While movies are entertaining to watch, they usually miss so many important details because a movie simply can’t be more than 3 hours long. There’s also the vision you had in your head about what a character looks or sounds like versus who they end up being casted as. Sometimes the cast is just right and other times its all wrong. In this blog post, I’m going to discuss my favorite and least favorite movie adaptation that came from book series.

Of course, my favorite movie adaptation is Harry Potter! While the books are always going to be better, I believe the casting, the storyline, and the characters were all done so well. Whenever I read the books, I can definitely picture each character as who they are played by. However, there are still some characters who are better in the books than they are in the movies, like Ron and Ginny Weasley. They can’t get everything perfect no matter how much we want them to. It’s impossible to include every single detail mentioned in the books - but the details they did include were amazing! I can truly say I enjoyed every single Harry Potter movie and still enjoy them to this day.

My least favorite movie adaptation breaks my heart because it’s my favorite book series… the Percy Jackson movies. I had such high expectations for the movies and they just didn’t deliver! Their first mistake was hiring actors who were too old for the role. Their next mistake was not paying as much attention to detail as they should’ve - like the series of events that things happened. In the second movie, they basically condensed the last four books of the series into one. It was clear that the producers knew they weren’t going to make a third movie, but they still ended the second movie on a cliffhanger. The movies would have probably been good if I didn’t read the books - but I did. Hopefully the TV series that Disney+ is working on is much better and lives up to the expectations like the Harry Potter movies did!


Comments


bottom of page